The Blood of Olympus

Amy Tishler, Reporter

The Blood of Olympus

by Rick Riordan

528 pp.  Disney-Hyperion


Best-selling author Rick Riordan’s epic finale to the Heroes of Olympus series, The Blood of Olympus, does not disappoint. In this book, the demigods have only twelve days until Gaea, mother earth, awakens and wreaks havoc on the world.

If you are a Heroes of Olympus fan, The Blood of Olympus is a very satisfying read.  If you have never pick up a Riordan book, it is best to read the books in order, beginning with the Percy Jackson series and then moving on to the Heroes of Olympus series.

The book follows the demigods on two different journeys. Reyna, Nico, and Coach Hedge attempt to transport the Athena Parthenos statue to Camp Half Blood as a peace offering to the Romans to prevent them from attacking the Camp. The rest of the demigods race to reach Athens before Gaea awakens, so that they can be prepared for battle.

The mythology and characters are the most compelling parts of Riordan’s books.  In The Blood of Olympus, Riordan focuses on developing the characters of Nico and Reyna. For the first time, parts of the story are told from Nico’s viewpoint.  The reader gains deeper insight into his struggle to fit in with the other demigods, a theme that certainly will resonate with many of Riordan’s teenage readers.

Riordan also presents information about Reyna’s past, which helps explain why she is so driven.

While most of the fight scenes are incredibly written and highly detailed, the description of the final showdown between the demigods and Gaea’s army is surprisingly brief and not as action-packed as the other fight scenes. Most of the loose ends in the series are wrapped up, but there is a final twist that leaves the reader in doubt about the fate of one of the demigods.

Could Riordan be leaving the door open for a new series based on this character?

Riordan’s next project will take him in a new direction. Rather than focusing on Greek and Roman mythology, the trilogy, called Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, will be based on Norse mythology. The first book in the series will be The Sword of Summer.